10 Reasons Why It’s Hard to Be a Grammar Nerd

Grammar Irony
As a writer (and avid speaker of the English language) I take my grammar seriously. I’ve long been an advocate of a “Fix Your Grammar” button on Facebook, but I try not to be too harsh on those who may take grammar a bit less seriously than I do. Mostly because I want to keep my friends. I think, though, that grammar nerds tend to get a bad rap when we’re really just trying to help (okay, fine, sometimes I just want to be a troll). But do we really deserve to be lumped together with murderous soldiers who killed millions of innocent people? I think not. So in an attempt to vent my grammar grievances, here are 10 reasons why it sometimes sucks to know the difference between “your” and “you’re.”

1) We get referred to as Nazis…

2) …when we really just want to help you learn to save you from another disastrous grammar mistake.

7f1861d4cac1d50b374ab087210ed23e

3) We’ve come to realize that people don’t generally enjoy being in the presence of a grammar nerd.

a3c1cdedf8c9ba4a8a46d9a41cae6930

4) We can sometimes use our powers for evil rather than good. At times costing us our friendships.

466975e99128ee54803ca659e97f6cf1

9d49da6bfb90d8b7926d0711be32613f

5) We spend so much of our lives proofreading, editing, and writing full sentences (even when it’s not required).

6f265de67398e53af1b12f5a89749507

6) Sometimes it gets to be too much and we lose our cool.

1938fe5be3b0f418b3e4aa9d12ed5872

7) We’re more bothered by other people’s bad grammar than they are.

39c183ed20b87cad54a3d517f44fb359

8) Our dating pools shrink by the day.

892012145221iwsmt

9) Sometimes we’re the only ones who understand the jokes.

tumblr_lgek1zZmsn1qgq5nyo1_500

10) Even when we know someone is making fun of us, we can’t help but correct them.

Toy Story Grammar

Sometimes the world can be tough on grammar nerds (almost as tough as we are on the language offenders). Show us some love, world! We’re just trying to help.

(Now I’m off to go proofread this post 67 more times…)

16 comments

  1. Funny post–thank you. Being in the letter stages of self-publishing my first book, I couldn’t shake the feeling that multiple test readers and a professional editor had missed things. To alleviate this nagging feeling, I hired an Irish gent with a journalism background to do one final proof read. It was a wise decision, as he caught many minute things others had missed.

    I guess I am a stickler for correct grammar, especially in my own writing. I’m part of the club.

    1. I think many (dare I say most?) people don’t even catch the small errors in books, and if they do they don’t care. It’s a smart choice to keep proofreading, though, because for those of us who do care about grammar the mistakes can be a turnoff. I know whenever I see even a minor error in a published book I get distracted.

      Thanks for reading, and good luck with the first book!

    1. Thanks, Gareth, for the kind words and the reblog/re-blog. I’ve wondered about that word, too. I had to type it a few times to see which version looked better, but ultimately I sided with WordPress and ditched the hyphen. But I guess if it’s not in the dictionary we can spell it however we want 🙂

      1. Yes, I agree. Reblog looks better, requires one less key stroke and keeps one’s head below the parapet regarding appearances a grammar nerd. But one grammar nerd to another; I just thought I’d ask 🙂

Share Your Thoughts (I Won't Bite, I Promise)

