Super Bowl 2014 Commercials: Best of the Best

Football
First of all, congrats to the Seahawks and better luck next year to the Broncos. Second, it’s time to discuss the touchdowns and fumbles of the advertising industry (which is much more exciting in my opinion)! There were some great standouts (my favorite coming before the game even started) and there were also some questionable ones. I’ve only rated what I thought were the best and most memorable ads, because in my opinion if it didn’t immediately stick in my mind after the game it was less than amazing.

I need to forward this to everyone I know:

The best of the best. The creme of the crop. The headlining show. These are the commercials I’ll be talking about tomorrow and I will remember long after the game.

Metlife: Peanuts National Anthem: A+

It’s subtle, yet beautiful. Nothing quite makes you feel authentically American like the National Anthem and the beloved Peanuts characters, so I think Metlife hit a homerun (err…touchdown) with this commercial.

Cheerios: Gracie: A

This one falls into the simple yet wonderful category too, much like Cheerios themselves. I can’t really explain what it is about this ad that I love, I just do.

Budweiser: Puppy Love: A

I knew I was going to love this ever since Budweiser released the teaser picture of the puppy and the Clydesdale, and it still gets me right in the heartstrings every time I see it. But I’ve always been a sucker for puppies, too.

Microsoft: Empowering: A

While whether it was a real tearjerker or not depends on the person, I was smiling the entire time. Microsoft’s still got it, baby.

Golf Clap…

And then there are the okay ones that didn’t blow me away, but still deserve to be on the list.

Bud Light: Whatever Happens: B+

This one was so hyped and had the star power behind it, but I thought it fell flat just a little. Still a good ad and a good idea, but I guess I just expected a little bit more.

Coke: America is Beautiful: B+

Coke’s commercial really made me smile, because it’s just so American. The only thing that kept it off the A-list was that I typically expect more from Coca-Cola, and for some reason this commercial just didn’t live up to my expectations. Sorry, Coke. Nothing personal.

Maserati: Strike: B

I liked this ad because it was unexpected, but I also thought it dragged on a bit too long. I couldn’t tell if it was a commercial or a movie preview. Good concept, but I think the message was forgotten among all the lead in.

Axe: Make Love Not War: B

This is another one where the concept is good, but I thought the ad was a bit too boring to be a Super Bowl ad. But it was one I remembered, so apparently something clicked with me.

Social Media Standouts

This is the first year we’ve been expecting companies to step up their social media game (thanks, Oreo) and a couple of them did just that. It was beginning to look like JC Penney was starting the celebration a little too early and sending out drunk tweets, so Doritos and Kia stepped in to help. Only to find out JC Penney was just struggling with their mittens. Well played team. Well played.

Do you agree? Disagree? Did I leave your favorite off the list or include one you hated? Sound off in the comments!

2 comments

    1. Thanks, Valeria! I know a few people who didn’t care for Microsoft but loved Coca-Cola, so I guess it’s all just opinion. But it’s nice to see someone thinking along the same wavelengths as me. Thanks for your comment!

Share Your Thoughts (I Won't Bite, I Promise)

