Puppy Love, Arnold, and Sexy Candy Bars, Oh My! Companies Going All Out for 2014 Super Bowl Ads

Super Bowl 2The countdown to America’s holy day of sports and beer and obnoxious shouting at the TV has begun! There’s just a bit over two weeks until the Super Bowl, and I have a slight confession to make: I couldn’t care less about football. I don’t even know which teams are playing. Even if someone did tell me who’s playing there’s a chance I won’t even be able to tell you which city they’re from. But I am going to watch the big game so that I can see the ads. Because I can get as excited over the ads as football fans get over the game. One minute I’ll be shaking my head at the TV in disappointment and shame for my industry of interest, the next I’ll be in awe of the brilliance of the almighty advertisers. So far this year’s lineup looks fairly promising, but I’m looking forward to some more than others.

Budweiser: This commercial has got me more excited than any of the others. It’s titled “Puppy Love,” and it’s a followup to last year’s beloved Super Bowl ad “Brotherhood,” which detailed a Clydesdale’s lifelong love for his trainer and had us all in tears. This year, though, the Clydesdale will be bonding with a puppy. Because clearly the only way to raise the bar from “Brotherhood” is to introduce a 10-week-old puppy.

Photo Credit: Business Insider¬†¬† So far all we have of this ad is this photo, but I think it’s a good indication that this commercial will be melting hearts all across America

EDIT: The video has been released! And it’s too adorable for words.

Bud Light:¬†Along with the Budweiser spots, Anheuser-Busch InBev will also feature several commercials for Bud Light. Starring in the spots will be the Terminator himself, along with Don Cheadle, Reggie Watts, a female celebrity who has not yet been named, and a llama (don’t ask me). The company has so far released six teaser trailers, which are linked for your viewing pleasure here. Although all the spots appear to be completely random events, I guess that’s the point of the “Whatever Is Coming” theme. I have to admit that they’ve piqued my interest, so I’m curious to see the full forms of these ads.

EDIT: The full video that puts together all the pieces has been released! The random events are still somewhat random, but at least the reasoning is explained a little bit better now.

Butterfinger: Although this year Bart Simpson will be sitting out as the brand’s famous spokesperson, Butterfinger is trying a different approach that will surely get attention. Advertising their new Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups, the “Couple’s Therapy” spot will feature Mr. Peanut Butter and Mrs. Chocolate trying spice up their relationship. The commercial is somewhat racy, especially when Cheese and Crackers emerge from the therapist’s room getting far too excited over a huge stick of salami, and when Peanut Butter and Chocolate are gazing lustfully at the centerfold of Exotic Snacking magazine. It’s a little bizarre, if you ask me, but I suppose Butterfinger is trying to pull out (no pun intended) all the stops to lure people away from Reese’s.

The video has been taken off YouTube as of right now, so I can’t link it here. But you can still check it out here if you want to see it yourself.

Other Super Bowl players for 2014:

I’ve just focused on some of the commercials that I think are the most interesting, but there are many others who will be shelling out the $4 million (!!!) per 30 seconds of TV time during the game, some of which are Super Bowl veterans and some are first timers. The complete (so far) list includes: Audi, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Jaguar, Kia, Volkswagen, H&M, Bud Light, Dannon, Cheerios, Coca-Cola, Chobani, Doritos, Heinz Ketchup, Mars, Pepsi, SodaStream, Intuit, TurboTax, GoDaddy, Squarespace, and Axe (phew, long list).

I think it’s also noteworthy to mention the brands we won’t see this year, which include Best Buy, E*Trade, and Subway. Best Buy is struggling enough as it is, so I can’t say I’m surprised to learn they won’t be spending the whopping $4 million for an ad this year. E*Trade shifted its creative from Grey to Ogilvy & Mather, so we’ve seen the last of the E*Trade baby. And Subway is saving its money to focus on the Olympics this year instead of the Super Bowl.

It’s now time to place your bets! What are your predictions for who will win the Super Bowl (the advertising portion, anyway)? Any of the ads stand out to you so far?

2 comments

  1. I’m excited to see what Mars will bring to the table this year. Their M&M commercials are always a huge hit. I’m hoping Coca Cola would advertise this year. Most ads try to go for comedy, but they usually go a different route. Plus, I really like their polar bear commercials. The company that worries me is Frito-Lay with their Doritos commercials; they’re always a hit or miss. Sometimes, I feel they try too hard to be funny. Overall, I think I’d place my bet on Mars, though.

    1. Hi Eli, thanks for the comment and for reminding me about Coca-Cola. I accidentally left them off the list, but they will be advertising this year. So far there aren’t many details (as far as I know) but I think I read somewhere that it’s going to be about celebrating American society. That sounds pretty similar to what Pepsi’s planning, but I’ve always preferred Coke’s commercials. And I agree–their polar bear ads were my favorites!

      I’m not too sure about Doritos, either. Even their “good” commercials seemed pretty weird to me, but I know a lot of people think they’re hilarious. And I’m also looking forward to the Mars ads. Supposedly they debated about whether to advertise Snickers or M&Ms, but I was happy to see they went with M&Ms.

Share Your Thoughts (I Won't Bite, I Promise)

